Saturday, January 19

Jonathan Rea wins 4-in-a-row at Cornmarket awards. Trophies for Farmer, Kennedy, McGlinchey and Team 109

It was a star studded line up in the Crown Plaza Belfast last night for the prestigious Cornmarket Irish Motorcyclist of the Year awards.

It was no surprise that the winner was to be 4 times World Superbike Champion Jonathan Rea and sweet irony that it was also his 4th time collecting the trophy beating Joey Dunlop’s record of 3 Cornmarket awards.

It was fitting that 2nd place didn’t go to one individual given the performance so, with the same points, BSB Superstock 1000 winner Keith Farmer and BSB Supersport champion Jack Kennedy both collected the accolade. Keith Farmer will compete in the Bennett’s British Superbike Championship this year for Tyco BMW while Jack Kennedy will be defending his title on the Team Appleyard Macadam Yamaha R6.

The Belfast Telegraph Irish Road Racer of the year went to back to back triple championship winner Derek McGee. As well was taking a 2nd place in the 2018 Lightweight Isle of Man TT, McGee retained his Superbike, Supersport and Supertwin titles from 2017.

After an exemplary first season in British Junior Supersport, Eunan McGlinchey secured the inaugural championship and that earned him the Kawasaki Young Rider of the Year trophy. Despite strong competition all season, the Team 109 riders’ composure, skill and determination shone through. Eunan ups the ante in 2019 and will compete in the Pirelli National Superstock 600cc championship under the well established Team 109 banner along with full backing of Kawasaki UK. One to watch for the future.

If Eunans’ success was worth an award then, it had to be complimented by recognition of Team 109 who deservedly collected the JWA Team of the Year award. Since its inception the teams’ managers Paul Tobin and David Hurley worked tirelessly to find talented Irish riders and have them mentored by already established riders, like Team 109 ambassador Glenn Irwin, in their pursuit of titles. Examples of such success are Eunan, Scott Swann (British Talent Cup) and Kevin Keyes (Pirelli National Superstock).

Sadly a posthumous award was made to the family of William Dunlop who was inducted to the RPS Group Hall of Fame. William’s partner, Janine, and mother, Louise received the award on the night.


Words Andy Quinn

Images courtesy of James McCann, Tom O’Hanlon and Andy Quinn

Full award results below
Cornmarket Irish Motorcyclist of the Year: Jonathan Rea
IFS International Road Racer of the Year: Peter Hickman
Belfast Telegraph National Road Racer of the Year: Derek McGee
Kawasaki Young Rider of the Year: Eunan McGlinchey
JWA Team of the Year: Team 109 Kawasaki
Cornmarket Outstanding Achievement Award: Keith Farmer
Phillip McCallen Motorcycles Short Circuit Rider of the Year (Irish Circuits): Gerard Kinghan
RPS Group Hall of Fame: William Dunlop
Greenlight Television Special Recognition Award: McAdoo Racing
Black Horse Short Circuit Rider of the Year (GB Circuits): Jack Kennedy
A. McLean Bookmakers Race of the Year: North West 200, Supertwins Race 2
Belleek Off-Road Rider of the Year: Martin Barr
NI Air Ambulance Services to Motorcycling: Valerie Crichton

No comments:
Write comments