Sunday, July 15

Four from Fore for McGee - Walderstown Race of the South Results

Derek McGee was the worthy champion and Man of the Meeting today in Walderstown, winning all of his 4 entered races.

Beginning with a win in Open race, McGee set out to impress on his home track. The Cionn Torc MCC Open race was tight initially but, McGee gradually extended his lead to win from an impressive Davey Todd and a superb ride from local Thomas Maxwell in 3rd.

Next up was the Mangan Turnkey Fit out Solutions Supersport race over laps of the wet track. Again McGee gradually pulled away from Todd and the podium was completed by Kevin Fitzpatrick who rode brilliantly in the conditions.

After a brief rest while the Classics raced, McGee was back out again for the Dog and Duck sponsored Supertwin race. Again Davey Todd would be McGee’s closest rival but, the Mullingar missile built on previous performances and would eventually win by 13 seconds on the impeccable Ryan Farquhar built KMR Kawasaki. Limerick native James Chawke rode incredibly well also in the race to finish a brilliant 3rd place.

The Grand Final front row comprised of Derek McGee, Davey Todd, Micko Sweeney and Thomas Maxwell. Todd got a blinding start and led the first lap. McGee overhauled Todd and steadily increased his lead over the 6 lap race. Another fine performance from Thomas Maxwell saw him placed 3rd 4 seconds behind 2nd place Todd and race winner Derek McGee.

The Padraig Campbell Junior Support race was won by the younger of the Chawke brothers Liam from Daryl Anderson and Michael Gibbons in 3rd. After taking a few years away from racing, Michael Gillan is back and he was 4th.

Wayne Sheehan won the Conimac PTY Senior Support Non-Championship race from John Cahill and Daryl Anderson collected his second podium of the day with 3rd place in the 6 lap race on a drying but, testing track. In the Niall Scollan sponsored Senior Support Championship race, Wayne Sheehan took the win from Noel Smith and Matt Donaldson was 3rd.

In Classic racing, the Mary Nash 1000cc race was won by Robert McCrum on the Westlake from Richard Ford and Philip Shaw while in the 500cc race; Ed Manly was the victor from rival Barry Davidson. Gary Jamison was third in the restarted race. In the 250/350 race sponsored by Fore MCRC Brian Mateer picked up a win in the 250’s from Richard Ford and Philip Shaw. In the 350 race, Barry Davidson was a runaway winner from Ed Manly in 2nd and the popular Herbie Ronan in 3rd.

Thomas Molloy took top step in the Junior Support non-qualifiers race beating RJ Woolsey in the process and Dunsany Racing’s Dominic Cottrell was 3rd riding well. The Seven Wonders Bar sponsored the 400cc championship race. Daryl Tweed won this from Stephen Morrison in 2nd and Brian Loughlin in 3rd.

A damp start to the day made the circuit tricky all round but, all races went off without incident with the exception of the 500-1000cc Classic.

Credit must be extended to the Club running the races like clockwork in horribly wet conditions and also to their hard working assistants placed around the circuit. Even with the weather and stoppages, all racing was completed by 4.30.

Words and images (c)  Andy Quinn

No comments:
Write comments