Sunday, April 16

Dan Kneen takes Enkalon title for 2017!

The 40th anniversary of the Enkalon trophy took place yesterday in a dry and windy Bishopscourt with Manxman Dan Kneen taking the spoils after a 1st and 2nd place over the 2 legs. 

A flag to flag win in the first race put Dan in command for the 2nd race which was won by KMR rider Hudson Kennaugh by just 0.2s after the restart. Gerard Kinghan and Ali Kirk also graced the podiums in Race 1 and 2. Dan Kneen now shares the title of Enkalon champion with the likes of Johnny Rea, Robert Dunlop and Philip McCallen.

In the Avon Supersport races, Jason Lynn took the win in race 1 as did Ross Patterson in race 2. Strong finishes were also recorded by Christian Elkin, Korie McGreevy and Aaron Armstrong in the 9 lap affairs.

In other results there were race wins for Mark Murphy and Chris Campbell in the F1 era races. ISBcup winners were Anthony Derrane and Ashley McClernon and in the ISSCup non-qualifiers race both Stephen McKeown and Kyle Cross won, Kyle Cross back after a 2 year absence from racing.

The top 14 quickest ISS Cup riders qualified for the Pro race. Caolan Irwin capitalized on this and won both AND finished P8 and P9 in the Pro race.

In production twins racing, Eunan McGlinchey continued to impress with a brace of wins following his success in the recent Masters event in Mondello Park. The GP125 category also saw 1 winner for the 2 races with Cahal Graham completing back to back victories.
Pre-injection racing is in good health as the large field of entrants saw Matt Donaldson and Johnny Irwin take a win a piece in race 1 and 2 respectively.

Mark Hanna dominated the two Avon tyres Supertwin races winning both from the pole position that he sat with a time well under 1m 14s. Avon tyres also sponsor the Lightweight Supersport championship and Darryl Tweed did the double in this still popular category.

A well run meeting overall with some ferocious dicing to entertain the reasonable crowd of spectators that traveled to the beautifully maintained Bishopscourt circuit.

Words and images Andy Quinn

No comments:
Write comments