Wednesday, October 12

Champions crowned at Record breaking St Angelo- by Derek Wilson

A record crowd at a sun baked St Angelo yesterday saw lap records broken in many classes, Cody Nally returned to his form of old, with a record breaking Double in the superbike class, in which Nikki Coates was crowned 2016 ISB Champion. Jason Lynn took the Irish 600 supersport championship with two podium finishes, but it was Robert Kennedy who was rider of the day, Double winner in the 600 class, New absoloute lap record holder and first time out on a two stroke machine, topped the 125 class, and set a new 125 lap record!

In glorious sunshine, with tempatures more akin to July rather than October, Championships at stake, the cream of the Irish and Ulster short circuit Championships were out in force for the third running of the Enniskillen 100 short circuit meeting.
Following three untimed practice sessions, each class got a 12 minute qualifying, and it was Maghera rider, Jason Lynn, in only his second outing on a superbike , who broke the existing lap record to take pole from the current lap record holder Athlones Cody Nally.
In the hotly contested 600 class, less than one second covered the top 6, Kennedy and Lynn going under the existing lap record.
When the flag went up for the opening Superbike race, Cody Nally was on a mission, pulling away at over a second per lap, and shattering his lap record to take the win by an amazing 10.152 seconds from Jason Lynn, who was having a great tussle with Nikki Coates until he slid out of contention on the last lap, allowing Korie McCreevey to take third ahead of local rider Aaron Armstrong.
In the second ISB race, Nally again streaked away into the lead, in a well controlled race, to make it a double. As in race one, Coates and Lynn had another great battle, this time Coates took second, and with it, the 2016 ISB Championship. Lynn was a safe third ahead of the ever consistent Charles Stuart.
The 600 supersport race, once again provided the large crowd with two very entertaining races.
In the opening race, Dundrod rider Robert Kennedy overcame a poor start to take the win from Jason Lynn, with early leader, newcomer to St Angleo, Aaron Clifford in third.
Kennedy, who contested some British Championship meetings this year, also set a new course record at 57.732 mph.
The second encounter was stopped after four laps, when Ross Patterson crashed out, Ross was taken to hospital with a suspected ankle injury.
In the re run, Kennedy was again slow off the line, but soon overcame his sluggish start, to make it a double after yet another pulsating affair with Irish Champion elect, Lynn making him work hard for his win. Christain Elkin go the better of a race long duel with Nikki Coates to take 3rd spot.
Taking time out from his British Championship Moto 3 campaign, Richard Kerr was the double winner in the Moto 3 race, setting a new lap record on his was to a fine double, Christain Elkin was second on both occasions. Local lassie, Melissa Kennedy was a non starter, following mechanical problems in practice.
Making his two stroke debut, Robert Kennedy was best of the 125 brigade, and also set a new lap record for the class.
There was no one to touch Joesph Loughlin in the supertwin class, an 18 second win in race one, before making it a record breaking double, when he won the second encounter by 15 seconds. Local rider, Paul Gartland was second on both outings, with Luke Hazlett third.
In the production class, it was exciting newcomer, Eunan McGlinchey who was the double winner, breaking the class record in race one, he re broke it in race two! Darryl Anderson was second in race one from Matthew Hazlett, the second outing saw Hazlett take second ahead of Jonny Hamill.
Andrew Brady was the double winner of the Pre Injection class, Dean Campbell and Darryl Tweed shared wins in the 400 championship races, Andy McAlister was double winner of the Superbike cup races, with Paul Carroll doing likewise in the 600 supersport class.
Although he won both Junior Cup races, Scott Swann result doesn’t count towards the championship, this left Cork rider, Maurice Kiely the double winner and new lap record holder in this class, former minimoto world champion, Jonny Campbell, clinched the Young Guns Challenge Championship after his double success.
Robert McCrum, Alex Conroy, along with circuit newcomer, Brian Mateer were each double winners and new lap record holders in their respective classes, with Barry Davison taking the double in the 350 class.
With this being the final round of the Classic racing championships, the 2016 Classic Champions are as follows;
(The Final remaining championship rounds, take place at the Hillsboroughs Sunflower Meeting on fri/sat 21st/22nd October at Bishopscourt)
Ulster Championship winners;
250 Brian Mateer
350 Barry Davison
500 Alex Conroy
1000 Robert McCrum
Irish Champions
250 Brian Mateer
350George Stinson
500 Alex Conroy
1000 Robert McCrum

See more photos from event at link below:

No comments:
Write comments