Wednesday, March 30

Easter Monday Irish SBK's - Rainey and Lynn clinche double wins.

Belfast And District Motor Club Easter Monday Races
Kirkistown Race Circuit

Words and pics - Derek Wilson

The Irish Short Circuit Championship moved a few miles up the County Down coast for its annual Easter Monday meeting at Kirkistown Race Circuit.
In stark contrast to Saturdays wet and windy meeting at Bishopscourt  the weather was kind to the Belfast and District and close to perfect conditions produced some superb racing.

Superbike race one saw Nikki Coates, Kingsbury Packaging Kawasaki hottest off the line and  lead the opening lap, lap two Manxman Dan Kneen making his Irish short circuit debut with the Lisburn based Martrain Racing Team passed Coates into the lead closely followed by IFS Yamaha mounted Ryan Rainey. Lap four reigning Irish Superbike Champion took up the front spot where he was to remain taking the chequered flag 0.627 secs in front of Kneen and chasing trio of Coates English and Mawhinney who were separated by less than half a second.

 The feature Mayors Trophy Race turned out to be a thriller again it was the Kingsbury Kawasaki of Nikki Coates that led the way on the opening lap closely followed by Brian McCormack, Kneen and race one winner Rainey back in fourth. Lap three and it was all change, Kneen picked up the lead from Coates and Rainey, McCormack being relegated to fifth. Rainey took a couple of laps to get passed a determined Coates but when he did he was quickly on the exhaust pipes of the Martrain Yamaha, eventually making his move on the last lap to beat Kneen across the line by 0.168 secs, with Nikki Coates taking the final step on the podium.

The Supersport races never fail to provide some of the closest racing at any meeting and this was no exception. Carl Philips got his Sandown Racing Yamaha of the line quickest and led the opening lap, lap two saw a swapping of places with Jason Lynn moving his Walter Bell Suzuki from fourth to first and Phillips dropping from front man to fourth. Once in front Lynn was there to stay holding off the close attention of Nikki Coates, Robert Kennedy and Carl Phillips till the flag, only 0.374 seconds separating the first 3 and Philips bringing his stock 600 across the line 1 second later.

Race 2 was a similar close encounter this time with Christian Elkins Bob Wylie Triumph in the mix in the leading pack, again it was Phillips who led the way off the line a lead he held till Nikki Coates moved to the front on lap 4. Race one winner Jason Lynn was on a charge and two laps later it was his turn to take to the front and as in the opening race he wasn’t going to give the place up hanging on to take his second win of the day with Robert Kennedy runner up and Nikki Coates third.

Liam Chawke won the ISB Cup races and Chris Dundee had two Supersport Cup victories.

Joe Loughlin and Marty Lennon had a win a piece in the Supertwin rounds.

Eugene McMannus and Richard Kerr shared the Moto 3 wins.

Full results here

For full gallery go to:

Derek Wilson Photography - Easter Monday Superbike Races 16

No comments:
Write comments